Oct 21, 2019

WTA Elite Trophy - Zhuhai









About tournament

WTA Elite Trophy

The WTA Elite Trophy is the second-tier, year-end tennis tournament on the WTA Tour. It has taken place since 2015 in Zhuhai, China, and this year's event will be the sixth rendition of the tournament. Let's take a look at who might win the 2021 WTA Elite Trophy.

WTA Elite Trophy 2021 Favourites

There have been five editions of the WTA Elite Trophy so far, and each of them has been won by a different tennis player. In 2015, Venus Williams triumphed over Karolina Pliskova and won the maiden WTA Elite Trophy title.

Since then, Petra Kvitova, Julia Gorges, Ashleigh Barty, and Aryna Sabalenka have all won one WTA Elite Trophy title each. Of these winners, Julia Gorges is no longer active, but all others should be considered as strong candidates for the 2021 WTA Elite Trophy title.

Ashleigh Barty, the top-rated Australian in the WTA rankings, will be the woman to beat as she has gone from strength to strength in recent years and has won the French Open and the Tour Finals and also reached the later rounds of all Grand Slam tournaments.

Petra Kvitova's most recent Grand Slam win is Wimbledon, back in 2014, but that doesn't mean that the Czech star won't come with all guns blazing in China for the closing tournament of 2021.

Lastly, Aryna Sabalenka is one of the most talented young players right now. She is yet to win a Grand Slam tournament, but we have a feeling she won't have to wait for too long. And while she waits for a Grand Slam win, what better way to keep all eyes on her but to go for a repeat of 2019 and defend her WTA Elite Trophy title.